A fresh start….

Standard

Welcome to the newest incarnation of my blog!  What you’ll find here are  slice-of-life pieces I’ve done over the last year plus, and which have been well hidden on a blog I maintained in Blogspot.  I began to use WordPress for my work blog and found it to be a good bit more user friendly;  hence the changeover.   I hope you’ll enjoy these random meanderings  and if the spirit moves you, please feel free to leave a comment.

This particular day I’m thinking about a recent piece I saw on “CBS Sunday Morning” (best weekend show, bar none)  about the loss of one of the best and brightest of our current female writers, Nora Ephron.  She both lived and died the way she wished, not telling even friends about her leukemia until the very end, a couple of weeks ago.  The tributes to her have been many, and she will be missed.

Her talent and good taste were brought to mind for me a couple of months ago when I attended the Erma Bombeck Writer’s Conference in Dayton, Ohio.  One of our keynote speakers there was Ilene Beckerman, who served as an inspiration because she was lively, funny, self-deprecating (always a plus!), had a great sense of style,  and–most importantly–did not take up writing until she was 60.  Her collection of reminiscences and drawings created  for her grown children was published and ultimately turned into a five woman show  produced off Broadway by Nora and Delia Ephron with a rotating cast of well known actresses.  The “Sunday Morning” commentator doing the remembrance of Ephron had performed in the piece, and worked with her in a variety of other settings, as well.  She commented on her professionalism, warmth, and the care she showed for even the most minor actors in her movies.  This, of course, is in addition to her writing talent and ability to make even the cutest dialogue ring true.  My oldest brother, whose book judgement I completely trust, tells me I must read Ephron’s Heartburn, about her marriage to Carl Bernstein.  I will add it to my growing summer list.  And I will rejoice in the fact that we have books such as this and movies such as “When Harry met Sally” to help us remember the talented Nora Ephron.

Leave a Reply

